History of St Nicholas, Bracon Ash
The church of St Nicholas, Bracon Ash is one of the oldest churches in East Anglia. It is not the first to stand on this site as the Domesday Book of 1085 records a church and a rectory here.
In the spring the churchyard has a profusion of primroses, snowdrops and daffodils. When the cherry blossom is out it forms a graceful arch over the pathway.
Inside, the first thing the visitor sees is the14th century font. To the left of the pulpit is a winding staircase which led to a rood screen (now removed).
The east and south windows in the chancel show signs of 13th century workmanship. There are a number of hatchments and George III royal arms above the chancel arch. The Berney mausoleum was added to the chancel north wall some time in the 18th century. The entrance is surrounded by a 16th century monument. The partial uncovering of this terracotta work is interesting as it is similar to the workmanship seen in the churches at Oxborough, Norfolk and Layer Marney, Essex.
The bell used to be housed on the roof in a wooden bellcote which had to be dismantled. It is now under a bell shed near the south door.
The church is open during daylight hours and you are welcome to explore.